Driving with Mom

Mom asked dad,

Can I take the car?

I promise I won’t go very far.”

Dad looked worried,

but said with a smile,

“Enjoy our new car,

and take a while.”

I strapped myself

in the front seat

and reminded myself

to keep upbeat.

Mother was known

far and wide

for loving to live

on the wild side.

She’d climb high mountains

jump from planes

never held

under societies constrains.

As I sit here now

all sopping wet

driving with mom

I surely regret.

 

SJ, 2012

2 thoughts on “Driving with Mom

Leave a Reply

