My Loss of Wonder . . .

I see your eyes

so full of wonder

what thoughts

what stories do they bring?

 

No lesson plans

or hours of study

are fit to let

your wonderment sing.

 

Truly, you have

eyes that see

what mature eyes

often overlook.

 

Experience, observe

. . . and reflection

true meaning is not

always in a book.

 

Your insight

and imagination

hold on tight,

for they can fade.

 

Had I known

my loss of wonder,

truly a child

I would have stayed.

 

SJ, 2012

Leave a Reply

