APED – Prompt 12: Just Two Minutes More . . .

WP4Phone_20150611213657_0

 

This poem was written for A Prompt Each Day, a daily dose of inspiration.  For today’s prompt – we were given a phrase to inspire our writing. Today’s phrase was “two minutes more.”  This is not autobiographical – but when I heard those words – this is what they spoke to me.  Some of the sentiments are real – but that is all.

 

Just two minutes more

father whispered softly

as he lay me in my bed

I’ll return to read a fairy tale

but he never did what he said.

 

Just two minutes more

he grunted

newspaper held tight in his hand

he wasn’t there when I needed him

he didn’t understand.

 

Just two minutes more

he called to me

as he spoke to all his friends

my college years had now begun

he never made amends.

 

Just two minutes more

he grumbled

as we shared my wedding day

he did not have any words to speak

yet I had so much to say.

 

Just two minutes more

he exhaled

as he pushed my son on a swing

I’m much too tired to deal with this

why must I do everything?

 

Just two minutes more

I whispered

was all I wished you could give

and as the grasp of death did near

he finally learned how to live.

 

(C) S. J. 2015

 

7 thoughts on “APED – Prompt 12: Just Two Minutes More . . .

  1. Very powerful indeed, and heartbreaking. People always think there’s going to be a tomorrow, a next time–and often there is not. By the way, you have a very interesting blog–the theme and colors as well as your lovely writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much. Before kids I used to work in desktop publishing. I have an eye for layout and color. I can’t do much to create art . . . But I can come up with a pretty nice layout.

      Like

Leave a Reply

