APED – Prompt 17 : The Death of Love

SS

 

This poem was written for A Prompt Each Day, a daily dose of inspiration.  For today’s prompt – we were given a list of ten words to inspire our writing.  The words are listed above.  I was able to use nine of them.

 

 

Upon the rising of the sun

I sought shelter in your embrace

Unmoved, you lay there like a doll

The kiss of death shown on your face.

 

Emotions raging in my heart

And lonely thoughts crept in my mind

In your hands I chose to weep

I mourned that I was left behind.

 

Slowly, I rose from your bed

To walk across the room – until

I turned, glancing at your face

In hopes to find you breathing still.

 

I laid red roses round your head

A crown of Jasmine in your hair

From your treasured garden, plucked

Each detail planned with loving care.

 

I lay my head upon your heart

In hopes, perchance, it still did beat

Yet nothing of you still remains

And tears of sadness admit defeat.

 

Our arms entwined, I love you still

In life, your love I did explore

Begging for my final breath

Heart beats – then falters – I am no more.

 

© S. J.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “APED – Prompt 17 : The Death of Love

  1. Oh my goodness, I was clutching my chest as I read this, trying not to fall apart. So real and rich–the “in your hands I chose to weep”–yes, that got me so deep. Wonderful write, though agonizing pain of loss. Oh gosh….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

