Emma’s Song

My youngest girl tries to drive me nuts by singing about all the mundane things as they happen. I made the mistake of letting them watch Mary Poppins and now she won’t stop. That’s what started it all. If she’s in the kitchen drying dishes, she is singing “I’m drying dishes . . Oh yeah! Ooh ooh ooh drying dishes!”. She sings about everything. She does this all with a wide grin on her face because she knows we are going crazy. She even tried her best to sing worse each time. She’s only eight and she’s cute as can be so we try our best to just let her do her thing. One day she was particularly bad and I warned her that if she did not stop I was going to write a story about her – and I did. This was the result. She grins when I read it to her.

 

Emma was a famous singer. Her singing was known far and wide. She would sing from morning to night and loved to hear the sound of her voice. Unfortunately, not everyone felt that way. Sometimes, people remember you for all the wrong reasons. Often, Emma would visit the zoo. She loved to sing to the animals. She thought the animals loved to hear the sound of her voice and that made her happy.

 

As she entered the zoo one day, a giraffe called out, “Oh no, it’s that time again!” He grumbled as he saw little Emma skip through the zoo entrance. “Everyone!” he shouted, “Get out your earmuffs!” The giraffes quickly ran to the giraffe house and got their earmuffs on.  Just imagine how difficult that was for them!  Those that were slow or clumsy, simply stuffed leaves in their ears. “Oh!” thought Emma, “they are wrapping their ears again. What a shame. I wish the zoo keeper would take care of their head colds!” The giraffes sighed with relief as she passed them by.

 

She slowly walked through the path into the zoo. She stood and watched the little cubs playing hide and seek with father lion. Quickly, everything got quiet. Quiet, that is, except for the sound of Emma’s voice. She started to sing. “Quick!” said father lion, “let’s get rid of that horrible sound!” The lion and his cubs all gathered and started to roar at Emma. Smiling, she thought, “Oh, those lions are joining me in my song.” Every day she came and happily sang with them – all while father lion prayed that she would get tired or perhaps develop a sore throat. Finally, she got tired of singing with the lions and traveled further on the path. The lions slept in the shade of a tree, exhausted from drowning out her noise.

 

Next, she came upon the sea lions. Once again, she burst out into song. Quickly, they jumped into the water to drown out the sound. Unfortunately, the sounds got even worse once they were under water. Finally, the oldest sea lion had an idea. “Let’s clap to drown out this terrible sound!” The sea lions gathered together and started clapping wildly. “It’s working but we could use some help!” one of the sea lions said. They were finally able to drown out the sound by clapping wildly and making noises of their own. “Arfff, Arffff, Arffff,” they shouted in unison. Proudly, Emma continued singing. “Look at that,” she thought, “they are singing along and clapping for me.” Since they encouraged her, she continued to sing for a very long time. Finally, she became bored and walked further along the path. The sea lions climbed the huge rocks and napped in the heat of the sun. You just don’t realize how hard it is to yell “arfff” and wave your hands wildly for a half an hour! Exhausting!

 

Emma finally arrived at the elephant enclosure. She was delighted to see a group of elephants near the fence. How perfect, she thought, they can listen to me sing! “La la la,” she started. Immediately, the elephants backed away from the fence. Emma was afraid they couldn’t hear her so she started to sing louder and louder. The elephants didn’t know what to do. They tried picking up hay and stuffing it in their ears. They even tried stuffing hay into each other’s ears. It didn’t work. They thought about stuffing hay in Emma’s open mouth, but were afraid that the zoo keeper would get angry. Next, they started to stomp their feet. “Oh,” thought Emma joyfully, “they are dancing to my beautiful music!” She started to dance with them and sing louder. This worried the elephants greatly. “I know!” stammered one elephant, “let’s drown out that horrible sound! Make as much noise as you can!” The elephants all started blaring incessantly, one after another. It made a horrible noise that scared all of the animals in the zoo. Pretty soon, the zoo was full of noise – blaring elephants, screeching monkeys, roaring lions, and hyenas laughing and giggling at the humorous scene. Emma’s heart was filled with delight. “I so love bringing the beauty of music to the zoo animals.” She said, “Just look at how happy they are.”

 

The zoo keepers became stressed. They weren’t sure what to do. All of the people who visited the zoo that day quickly made their way to the exit.  They thought the animals had gone crazy! The zoo was empty, except for Emma and the amazing whirlwind of sound coming from the animals. The zoo keepers decided it was time to close the zoo early – again. They could not understand why, but this was the third time this week that this had happened. Sadly, Emma left the zoo. She wanted to stay longer to sing to the rhinoceros and the hippopotamus. You should see how they reacted last time! It sent shivers up her spine just thinking of it. Oh well, she thought. I’ve visited the zoo three times this week – I guess I can come back tomorrow!

 

For my little one who loves to sing – but hasn’t learned yet how to stop.  I love your music.

© S. J. 2015

10 thoughts on “Emma’s Song

    • My youngest girl tries to drive me nuts by singing about all the mundane things as they happen. I made the mistake of letting them watch Mary Poppins and now she won’t stop. That’s what started it all. If she’s in the kitchen drying dishes, she is singing “I’m drying dishes . . Oh yeah! Ooh ooh ooh drying dishes!”. She sings about everything. She does this all with a wide grin on her face because she knows we are going crazy. She even tried her best to sing worse each time. She’s only eight and she’s cute as can be so we try our best to just let her do her thing. One day she was particularly bad and I warned her that if she did not stop I was going to write a story about her – and I did. This was the result. She grins when I read it to her.

      Like

    • I can’t wait until they grow up and I provide each of their spouses a portfolio of all their antics in poetry/short story form. Just kidding – kinda. I have tried to teach the kids to laugh at our quirkiness.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That is a thought that somehow matches the thinking process of my parents! I don’t know how, but they seem to remember everything that should have been forgotten 😀
        For example, when I was a little younger than Emma is now, whenever mom took me to a walk, I asked her to move a few steps forward and observe me.
        And I did this silly dance singing a silly song about what to do when you fall in love but scared to propose :/

        Like

Leave a Reply

