APED – Prompt 20: Snow Day

prompt5

 

This poem was written for A Prompt Each Day, a daily dose of inspiration.  For today’s prompt – we were given a list of ten words to inspire our writing.  The words are listed above.  I was able to use six of them.  I would have used more – but wanted to tell my story without being too constricted by the words.

 

So – for all of you who are wondering . . . this story is true.  My son, at the age of 1 was going crazy because we would not let him go out to play.  He kept yelling “outside, outside, outside!”  We just kept saying, “No, no, no!”  He could not understand why we wouldn’t let him.  When our backs were turned, he ran out into chest-deep snow in only a diaper.  Strangely enough – he did not seem to realize that snow was cold (this was his first official snow) – and he only panicked once he got all the way to the other side of the deck.  He did not know what to do.  He just stood there in panic.  So – today my poem has been inspired by the above words – and my darling son (who always keeps me busy)!

 

My sisters are so boring

All they do is sit and read

They waste time learning letters.

While I beg to be freed.

 

I don’t mind reading stories

But prefer to make my own

Wind in my hair, they call to me

In stillness, they can’t be known.

 

The girls are doing lessons

But I still cannot read

I hear the back door beckoning

I run to it in speed.

 

Before my sisters could ever shout

“Go out? Not now. No Way!”

I ran outside without my coat

I felt the need to play.

 

I quickly ran across the deck

In diaper – nothing more

Half way across – I could not move

There was something I could not ignore.

 

I stood still just like a ghost

In every shade of white

My lips trembled, turning blue

I gripped my diaper tight.

 

Chest deep snow surrounded me

It gave me such a chill

Don’t know why I went outside

My screams were loud and shrill.

 

My sister then came running

Barefoot in the snow

She yelled “Are you crazy?

It’s winter – don’t you know?”

 

Mom wrapped me tight in blankets

I ate cookies and some tea

I’m glad I finally realized

How to get them to notice me!

 

© S. J. 2015

 

 

7 thoughts on “APED – Prompt 20: Snow Day

Leave a Reply

