Photography and a Poem: Anasazi Dreams

A few years ago, we visited Mesa Verde National Park.  From that trip, I learned one thing – no matter what part of the earth you explore – there is beauty to be found.  My ideal trip is usually near the ocean or mountainous regions so this was my first time choosing a place closer to a desert.  I am glad we went.

 

Wikipedia states:

Mesa Verde National Park is a U.S. National Park and UNESCO World Heritage Site located in Montezuma County, Colorado. It protects some of the best preserved Ancestral Puebloan archeological sites in the United States.

 

Here is a poem inspired by the photographs I had taken there.  I hope you enjoy them.

 

Sand swept ruins

Are now laid bare

Revealed beneath

The blazing sun

 

Shelter sought

And safety found

On precipice high

Your tale begun.

 

A world – a life

In distant time

So far from what

I have known

 

What dreams and passions

Led you here

This place –

you called your home.

 

Nothings left

But remnants kept

Entice my eyes

And stir the heart.

 

I peek inside

And cannot help

But wonder . . .

What truths do they impart?

 

© S. J. 2015

 

 

 

 

 

© S. J. 2015

 

 

12 thoughts on “Photography and a Poem: Anasazi Dreams

    • It was a stunning view – especially when you look down and realize how high up on the cliff they were. Not so fun for someone like me – with fear of heights! Thanks so much for your comments!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

