APED – Prompt 29: I Live and Breathe for Beauty

prompt12

 

This poem was written for A Prompt Each Day, a daily dose of inspiration.  For today’s prompt – we were given a phrase “I live” to inspire our writing.  This poem just started writing itself – sometimes it just gives my brain a break and I don’t have to work so hard.  If anyone were to ask why I bother sharing my blog – my pictures – my poems – my thoughts – I truly think that my response would be this poem.  I hope you find it worth sharing.

 

And yes – the above photo is mine.  I took it in California quite a while ago.  It is a place where I would just love to sit in the shade of that tree and write.  It is very peaceful there – or at least, it was when I was there.

 

I live and Breathe for Beauty

 

I live

to see the setting sun

to feel the warmth of love’s embrace

I live to gently kiss the sky

with words and rhyme

these dreams – I chase.

 

I live

to brush away the tears

to put a smile upon your face

I live to help the fallen fly

with words and deeds

these dreams – I chase.

 

I live

to climb the mountains high

to seek out beauty where it lay

share with those who’ve seen no trace

with words and image

these dreams – I chase.

 

© S. J. 2015

 

12 thoughts on “APED – Prompt 29: I Live and Breathe for Beauty

Leave a Reply

