APED – Prompt 34: The Last Dance

prompt14

This poem was written for A Prompt Each Day, a daily dose of inspiration.  For today’s prompt – we were given ten words to inspire our writing.  I was able to use eight – to use more would have been forced.  I truly sat down to write this poem not knowing where it was going to take me.  It all started out in a garden and then the rest of the story just came to me.



From the beginning – I knew the girl was the jewel of her mother’s heart.  That part just came to me immediately.  I then imagined how hard it must be to leave the child you love behind.  There have been times throughout history where parents had to make the ultimate sacrifice for the safety of their children. It is the ultimate testimony of their love. It also speaks about the innocence of children. They always trust that they are safe. I hope I have done this story justice.


Barefoot in the garden

With lilies in her hair

She dances very gracefully

Her face is young and fair.


With rosy cheeks she dances

As if on pair of wings

She smiles at her dear mother

And sings of childish things.


The pair – they’re on a journey

They’re far away from home

When soldiers stormed their city

The woods they sought to roam.


With nothing in their pockets

And just a loaf of bread

They ran in search of safety

For fear they’d end up dead.


The daughter she is happy

Within the forest deep

She thinks they’ll find a cottage

And someplace warm to sleep.


She does not know the danger

For she is just a child

Mother’s burden looms ahead

But through it all she smiled.


At once they spied a cottage

But still they did hold back

For fear it was some kind of trap

They waited for the attack.


Yet as they sat there waiting

A woman came outside

She knew that they were watching

She begged them, “come and hide.”


The mother pushed her gently

The woman grabbed her hand

They quickly ran for safety

‘Twas not the life they planned.


And as they reached the cottage

Not noticed in their flight

Mother’s push was much too gentle

Her daughter turned in fright.


And as she stood there crying

How could she have known

Her mother tried to save her

She left her all alone.


For had she kept her daughter

The jewel of her heart

She would have died like her mother

To save her – they had to part.


© S. J. 2015

13 thoughts on “APED – Prompt 34: The Last Dance

  1. Poignant. The daughter will miss her, but I guess, she had to because she had to. I was completely engrossed in your rhyme. Kind of sad that the poem ended, actually.

    I don’t know where a prompt leads me either, and it’s good in a way. Glad it inspires such pieces though. 🙂

    Leo @ I Rhyme Without Reason

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. I don’t dwell in the sadness but in thankfulness for what I have and to truly experience happiness I sometimes do peek under the lid of sad topics. I promise 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

