APED – Prompt 73: Right Where I Found Him

This poem was written for A Prompt Each Day, a daily dose of inspiration.  For today’s prompt – we were given a wordle (10 words – see below) to inspire our writing.  I was fortunately able to use all ten words in this poem.
prompt75
Today, I drew a picture for you – in words.

Please pay attention to the words – so many people need to hear this, it seems.  We assume too much.

Rope taut, chair slides
There is one final silence
Limp – he no longer knows pain
He was left here hanging – his last word
And here he hangs – right where I found him.

Beautiful child, Mother’s love
You filled the silence in my life
And hid behind billowing skirts
Believed you were a soldier, a pirate
But now he hangs – right where I found him.

Blue eyes, wild dreams
You chased the wind and sailed the seas
With wonder you saw the world
Believed you could be anything
But now he hangs – right where I found him.

Time passed, new tests
You left for school to learn new things
But in your silent suffering
Wear painted eternal hope-filled smile
But now he hangs – right where I found him.

Lost wishes, family distress
Such dark thoughts to ease the pain
But in your need – you never spoke
And I lay here hungry to hear your words
But now he hangs – right where I found him.

Your feet barely touched the floor
Soul swept out – returned blank stare
You didn’t know I ached with affection
And in your pain – you thought you knew
But now he hangs – right where I found him.

And each night as you laid for rest
I quietly snuck in one final kiss
Forbidden love for child still growing
I held it in – afraid to love too much
And now he hangs – right where I found him.

Above me stands the old oak tree
In solemn stance they share my tears
How mother’s love is not enough
And now I lay here crying
For I see him hang – right where I found him.

©  Sumyanna 2015

*Main image courtesy of my daughter – a budding artist 🙂

6 thoughts on “APED – Prompt 73: Right Where I Found Him

    • True. The teachers think it’s the parents job and the parents think it’s the teachers job. In the end – how many kids are harmed? Such a very sad truth, indeed. Bullying SHOULD be wiped off the face of the planet but sadly, I am not in charge. People need to wake up.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I absolutely agree with you! I have faced bullying in only two schools and believe me they hurt really deep! the allergy stays, those who say kids forget it with time they don’t, especially if they despise bullying others!

        Like

        • I pretty much think it stays with you the rest of your life – no matter who you become. Some scars run deep. Wish people would teach their kids that. Perhaps we would have less sad people in the world if they did. Sorry I haven’t been around lately, by the way – just getting started with a new school. Should be back in swing soon.

          Like

Leave a Reply

