APED: Prompt 78 – Baby Lies

prompt01

This poem was written for A Prompt Each Day, a daily dose of inspiration.  For today’s prompt – we were given a word (baby) to inspire our writing.  I didn’t think I could come up with this one.   I hope you like what I ended up with 🙂

 

Baby
You said I was the one
That lit the sky on darkest night
And in your fears, you held me tight
Baby, you told baby lies.

Baby
You said no one else
Could melt your heart with finer flame
And when you cried, you called my name
Baby, you told baby lies.

Baby
You slept upon my door
And tore through what my heart contained
And in the end – was me you blamed
Baby, you told baby lies.

Baby
You said I cared too much
And you just wanted to be a man
But from every chance you ran
Baby, you told baby lies.

Baby
It sad, you refuse to see
The one that’s wanting – wasn’t me
Truly a man you’ll never be
Baby, you told baby lies.

©  Sumyanna 2015

 

– Picture courtesy of Morguefile

5 thoughts on “APED: Prompt 78 – Baby Lies

Leave a Reply

