What I Learned from the Birds and the Bees

I wonder

Do the humming bees

Ever feel a slight unease

Whenever the learned folk

Say they shouldn’t be flyin’.

 

I wonder

Do the flying geese

Ever think that they should cease

Give up, give in and take a rest

Yet high above they fly untiring?

 

I wonder

Does the tiny ant

Stop and say that he just can’t

The load too heavy – too extreme

Refuse what he can’t carry?

 

I wonder

Does the child in womb

Refuse to grow – it’s much too soon

In fear his sits and waits his fate

But later, finds he’s much too late?

 

If only

Man could understand

And venture forth,

although unplanned

And realize there’s beauty

in his weakness.

 

He must learn to grow – to strive

He needs to learn to be alive

And in his growth

He finally sees

The wisdom of

The birds and bees.

 

© Sumyanna 2015

 

7 thoughts on “What I Learned from the Birds and the Bees

  1. Interesting pondering, SJ. I don’t think other animals in nature really stop to think that much as we do. Though at times, it is good to think. I don’t know if all weaknesses are beautiful. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

