Nothing More than the Color of My Skin

I like to write – as should be obvious but there is no satisfaction like the moment when you say something that needs to be said.  You make a statement – you beg for change.  You make someone’s plea a little louder – you share a resounding call for people to wake up.

Today, I share this poem with you – and no matter your race, color, creed, or religion – listen to these words with open ears.  For what if it was your child – what if it was you – held prisoner to the sins of others?  What if it was you – judged only by the color of your skin.  If you already know these truths – then use your knowledge to share in the outrage.  Do not let the fact that you are not of this group let you refuse to see the sadness in it.  We are all human – after all.

For Ahmed Mohamed

I love to learn
And curiosity gets
The best of me
I want to know
The world
I want to understand

And though I am
But a child
I trust my goals
Are not too meek
And those in charge
Shall help me understand.

In moment of glory
I show my joy
And share a piece
Of what I love
In trust I share
For no one wants me harm.

The world has taught
Me many things
And despite the many
Things I can achieve
In this land, it’s true
Nothing matters more
than the color of my skin
And the name I call my own
And the creed by which I live.

I am made prisoner to things
I cannot understand
And I share the sin
Of men I never knew
Just a child, but now I know
Nothing matters more
Than the color of my skin
And the name I call my own
And the creed by which I live.

The world has taught me
My destiny is not my own.

© Sumyanna 2015

 

One thought on “Nothing More than the Color of My Skin

Leave a Reply

