A Week for Writing – Prompt 83: Desolate Winter of My Heart

prompt83

 

This piece was written for A Week for Writing, a daily dose of inspiration.  For today’s prompt – we were given a word – WINTER – to inspire our writing.  This is what I came up with.  I hope you enjoy it.

 

Note:  I should not sleep between when the prompt is mentioned and when I write it.  I have a horrible time remembering important details – you know – like write it in fifty words 🙂  That’s okay – I did not follow the rules – AGAIN.  However, I do love the story I was able to tell.  Either way – I’m glad I wrote for the prompt and wouldn’t change a thing.

 

Desolate winter of my heart

Why dost thou tease me so?

For after your cold and lonely nights

And after your harsh winds blow

I travel, alone till the bitter end

And still have no place to go.

 

For lonely heart despises the cold

Where empty promises lie

I once knew warmth and love at last

But my dreams were left to die.

She held them in her gentle grasp

Until she said goodbye.

 

No beauty had I known before

In heart, in face, and deed

Yet beauty ravaged and stolen away

As she slowly lay and bleed

A child she bore – a gift to me

‘Twas all a man could need.

 

As she lay there peacefully

Her true love by her side

I wept for all that I had lost

For all my dreams had died.

Winter swept within my heart

The day I lost my bride.

 

© Sumyanna 2015

 

Photo courtesy of Morguefile.

2 thoughts on “A Week for Writing – Prompt 83: Desolate Winter of My Heart

    • Thank you so much. I have tried and tried to leave you comments on your blog but Blogger just won’t let me. I just wanted you to know I read your last prompt write and loved it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

